2013 APME Journalism Excellence Awards

The 2013 APME Journalism Excellence Awards honor superior journalism and innovation among newspapers, radio, television and online news sites across the United States and Canada. The awards seek to promote excellence by recognizing work that is well-written and incisively reported.

All awards will be presented for journalism published or launched between Jan. 1, 2013, and Dec. 31, 2013. Because of the change in the entry period, first-place winners in the previous contest (running from May 1, 2012- April 30, 2013) are not eligible to enter their winning work in the current contest. All other entries are eligible and will be considered by judges. 

Besides the new deadline, the APME awards will feature a new category: Best Mobile Platform.  This new category will honor a news organization that produced or made significant improvements to a mobile application or platform in 2013.

Four of the categories offer monetary awards: the Eighth Annual Innovator of the Year Award for newspapers, the Best of Show in the Public Service Awards, the Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism and the Tom Curley Sweepstakes Award in the First Amendment Awards.